You are using an older version of Internet Explorer.

In order to get the most out of our website, you can get a free update of Internet Explorer.
If you're using a work computer, please contact your IT administrator.

  email E-mail this to a friend email Printable version

Member of Parliament CV

Salutation Hon. Member picture
First Name: Ummy
Middle Name: Ally
Last Name: Mwalimu
Member Type: Special Seat
Constituent: No Constituency
Political Party: Chama Cha Mapinduzi
Office Location: P.O. Box 3438, Dar Es Salaam
Office Phone: +255 715 444 277 Office Fax:
Office E-mail:
Member Status: Active
Date of Birth 5 September 1973
School Name/Location Course/Degree/Award Start Date End Date Level
Mkwakwani Primary School, Tanga CPEE 1982 1986 Primary School
Chanika Primary School, Handeni CPEE 1980 1981 Primary School
Korogwe Girls Secondary School ACSEE 1991 1993 Secondary School
Usagara Secondary School CSEE 1987 1990 Secondary School
Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Affairs State Attorney Trainee 1998 1999 Certificate
University of Oxford Refugee Studies 2008 2008 Certificate
University of Dar Es Salaam LLB 1995 1998 Bachelor
University of Pretoria, South Africa LLM (Human Rights & Democratization in Africa) 2000 2001 Masters Degree
Company Name Position From To
Ministry Of Justice and Constitutional Affairs Deputy Minister 2015-01-24 To Date
Vice President Office (Environment) Deputy Minister 2014-01-30 2015-01-24
Ministry of Community Development, Gender and Chidren Deputy Minister 2010 2014-01-20
Embassy of Denmark/DANIDA Programme Officer Governance and Gender 2004 2010
Legal & Human Rights Centre Legal Officer 2004 2004
Economic and Social Research Foundation, ESRF, Tanzania Assistant Researcher 2002 2003
OAU General Secretariat Legal Consultant 2001 2001
The Law Reform Commission of Tanzania Law Research Officer 2000 2001
Ministry/Political Party/Location Position From To
The Parliament of Tanzania Member Of Parliament 2010 2015
Chama Cha Mapinduzi, CCM Member - UWT Board (Tanga Region) 2008 2013
Chama Cha Mapinduzi, CCM Member - Tanga District (General Council) 2007 2012
Chama Cha Mapinduzi, CCM Member - Tanga Ward (General Council)- 2007 2012